Topic: Loading .x models with the irrlicht mod

Hello all,

I am new to both Irrlicht and Blitzmax.  I want to thank Gman for this wonderful mod. 

Recently, I tried to modify the Hello World example to load a .X (DirectX) animated model.  However, even though the program compiles and runs, the mesh is not displayed.  Here's the code I used.

Local driver:IVideoDriver = device.getVideoDriver()
Local smgr:ISceneManager = device.getSceneManager()
Local guienv:IGUIEnvironment = device.getGUIEnvironment()

Local mesh:IAnimatedMesh = smgr.getMesh("characteranimation3.x")

If (mesh)
  Print "Mesh loaded succesfully."
EndIf  

Local node:IAnimatedMeshSceneNode = smgr.addAnimatedMeshSceneNode( mesh )

If (node)
Print"The animated scene node exists!"

EndIf

smgr.addCameraSceneNode(Null, _VECTOR3DF(0,30,-40), _VECTOR3DF(0,5,0))

While(device.run())
    driver.beginScene(True, True, _SCOLOR(255,100,101,140))

smgr.drawAll()
    guienv.drawAll()

driver.endScene()
Wend

Both IF commands execute, which means I should be seeing my model.... but I can't.  Can anyone explain this?  Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Re: Loading .x models with the irrlicht mod

greetings smile  the code looks correct.  i would wonder about camera positioning and size of the .x mesh (ie too small to see from the current camera angle).  i would first try to add a FPS camera instead and look around to see if you can find the model.  also, try adding a lightscenenode to see if lighting could be an issue.  if all else fails and you dont mind, zip up an example BMX with the .x file and i will take a look.

node.setMaterialFlag(EMF_LIGHTING, False)

greetings smile  unfortunately im nowhere near knowledgable on models but i took a look and feel that there is an issue somewhere with the .x.  i tried the meshviewer tool that comes with the Irrlicht distribution and it couldnt view it.  i also tried to load the file in Ultimate Unwrap and it failed with an error.